Windfarm Observations

August 22, 2008 at 7:00 am

Not from me, but from Charles Profit. Charles Profit called me earlier in the week and told me that he was headed off to Illinois. He asked if I was interested in having him take a look at Horizon Energy’s wind turbine project in McLean County, Illinois. Of course I jumped at the chance to have Charles get me some pictures and give me his opinion.

After Charles’ visit to Illinois he called me and gave me his comments. He indicated that he was impressed with the size and scale of the project. He said the biggest issue that Horizon (or any other windfarm company would have in Van Wert) would face is siting. Van Wert County is considered a rural community. But unlike the area where the turbines were located in Illinois, we have houses spread out all over the countryside. You can’t drive a mile without seeing one or two (or more) houses. That will make for a challenge to site wind turbines.

The below pictures are from the Horizon Energy Twin Groves Wind Farm in Illinois. Thanks, Charles, for the great pictures and your commentary.

Entry filed under: alternative energy. Tags: , , , , .

Size Matters: From an Energy and Environmental Standpoint, the Larger the Livestock Farm the Better (part 4, conclusion) Nitrogen Fertilizer Options and Technologies


Notice

This blog is no longer being maintained. Information on this blog may still be relevant, but for the latest agronomic information and farm management information please visit http://corn.osu.edu and http://ohioagmanager.osu.edu, respectively.

